cookingdopa.blogg.se

Dxo optics pro review ken rockwell
Dxo optics pro review ken rockwell










dxo optics pro review ken rockwell
  1. Dxo optics pro review ken rockwell serial#
  2. Dxo optics pro review ken rockwell series#

But outside of that - notably at 180-210 mm, my most used range for this lens - there's no real creep, thank goodness. That said, this lens isn't as big as my Sigma 70-200mm f/2.8 lens - which really is a lens that I don't hand-hold much.Īs other reviewers have noted, this zoom lens suffers badly from "zoom creep" between 90 and 170 mm focal length when the lens is pointed upwards. If I have 2 or 3 lenses with me and I want to shoot around 70 mm, this won't be the lens. Walking around cities or on hiking trails, it's something I'd pull out just for specific targets, and really more at 210 mm than at shorter focal lengths. I do lots of shooting on a tripod (especially astrophotography), so that's not a problem for me with this lens. Shooting structured clouds and the moon helps to show sharpness and any presence of aberrations or vignetting I saw no vignetting at any focal length with a bright, uniform sky background. Personally, I'd grade the sharpness as 8.5, but I didn't want to put "8" so I rounded up. I cannot see color aberrations with this lens like I can with my Pentax 100-300-mm f/4.7-5.6 zoom lens, though the sharpness on the latter is noticeably better (even though the glass is larger on the Vivitar lens). The results are extremely good at all focal lengths (including with the 2X converter) wide open. These Vivitar lenses served good purpose for me, and I took them on trips (only the 28-105mm on trips requiring air travel).Īs good tests of sharpness and aberrations, I have photographed interesting structured "wispy" clouds at various focal lengths with this lens on my K10D camera, and have shot the first-quarter moon in twilight from 70 to 210 mm and then adding my Pentax 2X converter for 140-420 mm.

Dxo optics pro review ken rockwell series#

I did get some good use out of it back in the 1980s and 1990s, so I guess the value was good, but my Vivitar 28-105mm Series 1 lens sat on my camera much more than this one did back in those days when I didn't have much money to buy really good lenses (the 70-210mm lens being too large and heavy to be the default lens on my camera). I have no idea what I paid for this lens when it was new in the 1980s. I bought this (version 1) lens new in the 1980s to go with my K1000 (my first Pentax camera), and ended up using it later with my LX, PZ-1, and my K10D cameras also (although I haven't used it much if at all with my K10D until now, to check it out again after a long hiatus). Sharpness: 9 Aberrations: 9 Handling: 5 Value: 8 Camera Used: K1000, LX, PZ-1, K10D, K-3 II Nikon D800 Useful range in a single lens constant f/3.5 solid build (except for zoom)

dxo optics pro review ken rockwell

Review and test chart results by Benjamin Govert - Vintage Lens Reviews. The following table provides magnification information at the various positions along the len barrel and is indexed in terms of the focal length scale for easy reference. In effect the macro is at the 70mm focal length. If you wish a larger image size move the camera+lens closer to your subject." - user manual. If your picture does not require a fixed magnification, slide the zoom focus ring. As you slide it towards the camera body, the lens-to-film/sensor distance is reduced and the magnification decreased.įor optimum results in macro operation, turn the zoom focus ring to the right so that the macro focus reference mark is opposite the macro index line. As you slide the zoom ring away from the camera body (towards the 70mm end of the zoom movement), the lens-to-film (sensor) distance increases allowing you to achieve a higher magnification.

dxo optics pro review ken rockwell

".moving elements that change the position of the optical centre of the lens.

  • press the selector switch lock button and turn the macro selector switch counter-clockwise.
  • Slide the zoom focus ring towards the mount to the 210mm position.
  • Optical construction (elements / groups) 15/10 1981 by the Tokina made 37xxxx version.Įarly versions don't have VMC "Vivitar Multi Coating" on the nameplate, and there were small structural revisions over the production period - see this thread.įield of view 43-12deg (full frame ie 35mm) But this was pre-PKA so doesn't exist in PKA. 0=1980, 1=1981.Ĭan be found in all the mounts of the era including PK and M42.

    Dxo optics pro review ken rockwell serial#

    The third number in the serial indicates the year of manufacture: 4=1974, 5=1975, 6=. Made by Kino Optical (Kiron) - 22xxxx serials. The historic and innovative first version of the Vivitar Series 1 70-210mm went on sale in 1974, and was a significant step forward in the capabilities of a third party zoom, especially its close focus mode.












    Dxo optics pro review ken rockwell